How to Watch the 2024 World Mixed Doubles Championship Anywhere

Mr Kraken

5 min read

The World Mixed Doubles Championship and World Seniors Championships are scheduled to take place in the Oestersund Arena, Oestersund, Sweden from April 20 to 27. Across a variety of sports, Oestersund is among Sweden's top event planners. They have previously welcomed the World Senior Championships and the World Mixed Doubles Championship in 2018.

In 2008, the inaugural World Mixed Doubles Championship took place in Vierumaki, Finland. There will be 20 mixed doubles partnerships in this 16th edition.

There will be 25 men's and 18 women's teams vying for medals and the world title in the seniors tournament. In 2002, the United States hosted Bismarck, North Dakota, for the inaugural World Senior Championships.

2024 Mixed Doubles qualification

The mixed doubles teams qualified via the World Mixed Doubles Qualification Event in December 2023 in Dumfries, Scotland, or through their performances in the 2023 World Championship in Gangneung, Korea.

The order of finish for the four qualifiers from the Qualification Event was Germany, France, China, and New Zealand. The teams are split up into two groups with 10 teams in each:

Group A

Denmark, Estonia, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, Norway, Spain, Switzerland and Türkiye

Group B

Australia, Canada, China, Czechia, Korea, Netherlands, New Zealand, Scotland, Sweden and United States.

Mixed Doubles team preview

Denmark: H Holtermann and J Lander

Henrik Holtermann and Jasmin Lander are returning for the third time in a row.

Estonia: M Kaldvee and H Lill

This is Marie Kaldvee and Harri Lill's seventh outing together; they placed fifth in 2019 and 2023.

France: W Coulot and K Shevchuk

For the first time since 2009, Wilfrid Coulot is back in this championship, and Kseniya Shevchuk, a female player, is making her debut.

Germany: L Kapp and S Totzek

At the Dumfries qualification event, Lena Kapp and Sixten Totzek, a new team, qualified for the world championship.

Italy: S Constantini and F Zanna

Olympic champion Stefania Constantini plays alongside Francesco De Zanna, who is competing for the first time in this event and currently holds the bronze medal in the men's world and junior categories.

Japan: U Miyu and Y Tsuyoshi

While her male partner Yamaguchi Tsuyoshi is making his third appearance—he last competed in 2019—female player Ueno Miyu is making her debut.

Norway: M Nedregotten and K Skaslien

Magnus Nedregotten and Kristin Skaslien, husband and wife, compete in their eighth championship together. In addition to two world medals, they have bronze and silver medals from the Olympics.

Spain: O Otaegi and M Unanue

It's Mikel Unanue and Oihane Otaegi's fifth outing together.

Switzerland: Y Schwaller and B Schwaller-Huerlimann

This is the second time that Yannick Schwaller and his wife Briar Schwaller-Huerlimann play together. The previous year, they came in seventh.

Türkiye: D Yildiz and B Omer Cakir

Renewing her collaboration with Bilal Omer Cakir for a second time, Dilsat Yildiz makes her seventh appearance.

Australia: T Gill and D Hewitt

The only Olympic curlers from Australia are Tahli Gill and Dean Hewitt, who are competing together for the fifth time in an attempt to improve on their best finish of fourth in 2019.

Canada: K and C Lott

Kadriana and Colton Lott, husband and wife, make their public debut together.

China: Y Ying and T Jiafeng

Through the Word Mixed Doubles Qualification Event 2023, Yang Ying and Tian Jiafeng achieved qualification.

Czechia: Z Paulova and T Paul

Zuzana Paulova, the spouse of Tomas Paul, finished sixth in the 2022 Olympic Games and are competing in their seventh world championship together.

Korea: K Jiyoon and J Byeongjin

After finishing sixteenth on home ice in their first season together, Kim Jiyoon and Jeong Byeongjin return.

Netherlands: V Tonoli and W Goesgens

After finishing fourteenth in the previous season, Vanessa Tonoli and Wouter Goesgens are back for a second stint.

New Zealand: C Smith and A Hood

The previous time Courtney Smith and Anton Hood competed together at this tournament, they placed twelfth.

Scotland: S Jackson and D McFadzean

Duncan McFadzean and Sophie Jackson make up the new Scotland team pairing.

Sweden: I Wranaa and Rasmus

For the second time, Isabella Wranaa joins her brother Rasmus, the Olympic champion. 2022 saw them place fifth.

United States: Becca and Matt Hamilton

Becca Hamilton, the 2018 Olympic men's winner, and her brother Matt Hamilton, who finished eighth in 2022, are competing in this event for the third time together.

2024 Mixed Doubles format

Round-robin play with eighteen sessions will begin on Saturday, April 20, and end on Thursday, April 25. The teams in second and third place in each group will play qualification games in cross-over games, while the winners of each group will advance straight to the semi-finals.

On Friday, April 26 at 10:00, these games will take place. The winners will advance to the semi-finals. On Friday at 10:00, there will also be games for relegation. On Friday, the semi-finals will begin at 18:00.

The semi-final losers will compete on Saturday, April 27 at 10:00 for bronze medals. That same day at 14:00 will see the gold medal final.

How to Watch Mixed Doubles

The World Mixed Doubles Curling Championship 2024 will take place in Oestersund, Sweden from Saturday, April 20, to Saturday, April 27, 2024. Every game is available to watch on The Curling Channel. A day pass costs $4.99, while an event pass costs $14.99 on the Curling Channel. In certain places, geo-blocking may occur.

Some games are available for viewing abroad on the following networks: Czechia (CZCT), Japan (NHK), Switzerland (SRG, RTS, RSI), Sweden (SVT), and Scotland (BBC).

The entire competition will be broadcast live to everyone worldwide via Nextmirror. The cost of a Nextmirror event pass is $14.99, while a day pass is $7.99. You can perfectly enjoy the event from the USA, Canada, UK, and Australia—indeed, from anywhere in the world—as there is no geo-blocking.

The World Seniors Championships will also be broadcast live on Nextmirror.

World Seniors Championship preview

Oestersund Arena will host the World Senior Championships as well. In 2002, Bismarck, North Dakota, USA hosted the inaugural World Senior Championships. There are tournaments specifically for men’s and women’s teams.

Three groups of six teams each have been established for the women's competition.

Group A: Canada, Czechia, Finland, Japan, Lithuania and Norway

Group B: Estonia, Hong Kong, Ireland, Latvia, Sweden and Switzerland

Group C: Australia, Denmark, England, New Zealand, Scotland, and USA

Round-robin play will take place over 12 sessions, beginning on Saturday, April 20, and ending on Wednesday, April 24 in the evening. The quarterfinals will start on Thursday, April 25 at 19:00. The semi-finals are scheduled for Friday, April 26 at 19:00. The medal games are scheduled for Saturday, April 27, at 10:30.

The men's teams are split into four groups, three of which contain six teams and one with seven teams.

Group A: Canada, Croatia, Denmark, Finland, Norway, Philippines and Wales

Group B: Germany, Ireland, New Zealand, Nigeria, Poland and Scotland

Group C: Belgium, England, Estonia, Latvia, Switzerland and USA

Group D: Australia, Czechia, Hong Kong, Hungary, Japan and Sweden.

Round-robin play will take place over 17 sessions, beginning on Saturday, April 20, and ending on Thursday, April 25, in the afternoon. The quarterfinals will start on Friday, April 26 at 13:00. The semi-finals are scheduled for Friday, April 26 at 19:00. The medal games are scheduled for Saturday, April 27, at 10:30.

All times are in Central European Summer Time (CEST), which is two hours ahead of UTC.